Give thanks to the One Who gave much


*

Gratefulness

Thou that hast given so much to me,
Give one thing more, a grateful heart.
See how thy beggar works on thee
By art.He makes thy gifts occasion more,
And says, If he in this be crossed,
All thou hast given him heretofore
Is lost.

But thou didst reckon, when at first
Thy word our hearts and hands did crave,
What it would come to at the worst
To save.

Perpetual knockings at thy door,
Tears sullying thy transparent rooms,
Gift upon gift, much would have more,
And comes.

This not withstanding, thou wenst on,
And didst allow us all our noise:
Nay thou hast made a sigh and groan
Thy joys.

Not that thou hast not still above
Much better tunes, than groans can make;
But that these country-airs thy love
Did take.

Wherefore I cry, and cry again;
And in no quiet canst thou be,
Till I a thankful heart obtain
Of thee:

Not thankful, when it pleaseth me;
As if thy blessings had spare days:
But such a heart, whose pulse may be
Thy praise.
~ George Herbert
(1593–1633)
*

 

Portrait of George Herbert (poet) by Robert Wh...

Portrait of George Herbert (poet) by Robert White in 1674. From National Portrait Gallery (UK) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

O Lord that lends me life,
Lend me a heart replete with thankfulness.
~ William Shakespeare
  • George Herbert, “Easter” (sdhousedth.wordpress.com)
    Consort both heart and lute, and twist a song
    Pleasant and long:
    Or since all music is but three parts vied
    And multiplied;
    O let thy blessed Spirit bear a part,
    And make up our defects with his sweet art.
  • Sonnet: The Hand of my Beloved (davidemeron.com)
    But sweetly given me hast thou my voice,
    And moved my spirit; for my hand is thine
    To take thy gifted rest; though fear my choice:
    That rest will fall to apathy’s decline.
  • “Glory Be Unto Thee” (Bahá’í Prayer) (bahaimusic.wordpress.com)
    “I am aware, O Lord, that my trespasses have covered my face with shame in Thy presence, and have burdened my back before Thee, have intervened between me and Thy beauteous countenance, have compassed me from every direction and have hindered me on all sides from gaining access unto the revelations of Thy celestial power.
  • Sonnets to the Sundry Notes of Music (readersjoys.com)
    Long was the combat doubtful that love with love did fight,
    To leave the master loveless, or kill the gallant knight:
    To put in practise either, alas, it was a spite
    Unto the silly damsel!
    +
    Serve always with assured trust,
    And in thy suit be humble true;
    Unless thy lady prove unjust,
    Press never thou to choose anew:
    When time shall serve, be thou not slack
    To proffer, though she put thee back.
  • Piety Fortifies Faith (saintlysages.wordpress.com)
    Father Guibert elaborates upon the vital role of piety. He writes: “It is, properly speaking, in the region of things supernatural that piety enlightens the mind. Beyond the vast field of Nature, the phenomena and laws of which have been given over to the patient investigation of man, opens out the profound domain of mysteries. Left to itself, the mind of man cannot enter into it; but faith takes him by the hand and introduces him thereto. It says to him: ‘See thy God who has created thee; He fills the universe with His presence, while, at the same time, He is in the depths of thy heart.
    +
    “If faith is a gift so precious that the Apostle was able to say, ‘The just man liveth by faith’ (Gal 3:11), the vitality of a man’s faith will be the measure of his life; the more you believe, the more you will live. And here it is that piety comes in, for it contributes vitality and activity to the whole-hearted faith that accepts all the articles of the Creed. While faith continues slumbering, although entire, in many Christians, it is wide awake and ardent in those who are given to piety.”
  • The freedom of a horse- Artsy Tuesday (luzmariapalacios.com)
    “When god created the horse, he said to the magnificent creature: I have made thee as no other. All the treasures of the earth lie between thy eyes. Thy shalt carry my friends upon thy back. Thy saddle shall be the seat of prayers to me. And thou shalt fly without wings, and conquer without sword; oh horse.”
    ― AnonymousThe Quran
  • Ezekiel 35 (pofw.wordpress.com)
    Therefore, as I live, saith the Lord God, I will even do according to thine anger, and according to thine envy which thou hast used out of thy hatred against them; and I will make myself known among them, when I have judged thee.
    +
    We never win by holding a grudge against someone and rejoicing in their mishaps or failures. God created all of us to win. Sometimes people’s attitudes and actions cause them to be defeated. It is at those times that we must really lead as a christian. If we take pride in their fall and defeat, we will be just like this scripture, God will turn that same judgement upon us. A leader leads at all times. Our attitude and actions are being watched by many and we are the only bible many people read. Are we portraying Christ as He would have us to portray Him? We are only accountable for our own actions, what we say or do because ultimately that is what we will be judged for. God help us to let grudges go and convict us when we take pleasure in the hurt or fall of others.
  • St Augustine’s Notes on Psalm 23 (stjoeofoblog.wordpress.com)
    The Church speaks to Christ: “The Lord feedeth me, and I shall lack nothing” (verse 1 ). The Lord Jesus Christ is my Shepherd, “and I shall lack nothing.”
  • “Thou didst clothe me with skin and flesh, and knit me together with bones and sinews” (mrsmeadowsweet.wordpress.com)
    “I loathe my life; I will give free utterance to my complaint;     I will speak in the bitterness of my soul.  2 I will say to God, Do not condemn me;
        let me know why thou dost contend against me. 3 Does it seem good to thee to oppress,     to despise the work of thy hands
        and favor the designs of the wicked?
  • About Being Thankful (stuffitellmysister.me)
    Thanksgiving Eve.  I have typed and deleted my words about five times now.  My heart is thankful, but there are many things that need to change.  Things that I cannot control. So I will dwell on the good.  Blessings beyond belief.  A God that loves me.  Good health. A wonderful family.  A hubby that loves me and puts up with more than he should to provide for our family.

6 thoughts on “Give thanks to the One Who gave much

  1. Pingback: Trusting, Faith, Calling and Ascribing to Jehovah #15 Exposition before the Creator | Christadelphians : Belgian Ecclesia Brussel - Leuven

  2. Pingback: Wisdom not hard to find nor hiding in remote places | From guestwriters

  3. Pingback: Life isn’t unfair | From guestwriters

  4. Pingback: Time to be strengthened, thankful and to be prepared | From guestwriters

  5. Pingback: Are you doing Thanksgiving | From guestwriters

  6. Pingback: 2016 Thanksgiving and politics – Some View on the World

You are welcome to react - U bent welkom om een reactie te geven

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.