I’m not a Mooch

It takes a strong attitude for a man not to bother about the negativism against men who prefer to be a father at home for their kids.

notquiteperfectdad

So I’m constantly being asked why I chose to be a stay at home dad, and why I choose to remain one. Sometimes the question is genuine but sometimes it’s laced with scorn and disapproval…like when it comes from my in-laws.

Well I think the answer is pretty obvious, at least to myself and other stay at home dads, it’s because I’m a mooch. Yep…that’s the reason. I much rather prefer that my wife be gone 50 hours a week. I love laundry, dishes, vacuuming, diapers, puke, doctors offices, impossible nap times, crazy lunches, stupid comments from stupid people, and all the other benefits that come with being a stay at home Dad. Why work when I can just lounge around the house all day and do nothing?

Obviously that’s me exercising my right to sarcastic venting. But we know that there are many people who think just that. Why…

View original post 163 more words

3 thoughts on “I’m not a Mooch

  1. Pingback: Don’t be the weakest link | Stepping Toes

  2. Pingback: Gender roles and Multitasking parents | Stepping Toes

  3. Pingback: Detachment by Family problems | From guestwriters

You are welcome to react - U bent welkom om een reactie te geven

